current
archives
profile



pattern
host



guestbook
notes
email



So a lil about me....I'm married to my high school sweetheart, and now have three sons, Devon, Thalen, Dadrin (Dade)and a little girl, Celestine

I'm also a Freelance Graphic Designer & Illustrator. I LOVE my work. :-)

Well... lets see what else? I'm Hella shy, til I get to know the person, then I'm chattier than hell. I'm always willing to make new friends, but am a bit particular about which friends I get close too and keep in my life for the long haul.

I think I'm in a hangout mode in my life right now, occasional parties are GREAT, but I like to just kick back, have a nice toasty warm beverage, coffee, tea, hot coco (with marshmallows of course!)and hangout with my friends.

The Trees are Falling

2006-01-10 - 12:54 p.m.

Current mood: A Tad Jumpy

Usually such a title is followed by some poetry or short story of some sort. At least in my book it would. But not today.

Its something that actually has happened.

the rear of our house is backed by LOTS of trees. If you were to walk out through them I suppose one could say that its a nice lil mini strip of woods that eventually would lead you to this really awesome park with bike and hiking trails, a few ponds, lots of streams, Playground equipment, and the Tualatin River. During the fall and winter, depending on how much rain fall we have, the river rises and floods all the way out to the bottom of the hill in which our house (and many others) rest on. It's really amazing really to see all these trees growing out of the murky looking water (the ground is REALLY soft so the water stirs it up and is a light brown).

Last night we had massive rain fall and I dare say a bit of a wind storm... its not uncommon for us to hear branches, both large and small, loudly cracking and falling down with a large splash. Except last night while Joe and I were laying in bed (our room is at the back of the house over looking the trees and water) the cracking only got louder.. till finally we both JUMPED out of bed and ran into Dev's room .. just incase the tree came falling onto/into our room (this happened twice).

Fortunately for us, our house wasn't hit... unfortunately the same could not be said for our neighbors. its about 1230/1am Joe went over there to make sure that everyone was alright and to see if they needed anything. And that if they needed any help with the tree to please come over and let us know.

about a half hour later, when the weather began to die down.. less rain, less wind, the neighbors began clean up. and removing what they could of the tree. It was loud, but we were able to sleep through it til about 4am when the chain saw started going off. Which is rather difficult to sleep through! Nearly an hour later you hear them cutting again and the tree slide down crashing loudly.. breaking, what I assume to be, a window. few more cuts, hearing them yell for a tarp and nearly 5am it stops (or calms down) enough for us to be able to pass out.

I'm thankful that noone seemed to have gotten hurt, and I hope that the damage done to their home is very minimal.

I'm more than a lil nervous still. this is the second or third tree that has fallen this month... and you could see the ones still standing, practically bending over with great ease. there are a few that are close enough and at the right angle to where they could do some serious damage to our house. Especially the old oak that's next to the house.

template code by:rpdesigns, layout customization by KDS (aka Myself!)