current
archives
profile



pattern
host



guestbook
notes
email



So a lil about me....I'm married to my high school sweetheart, and now have three sons, Devon, Thalen, Dadrin (Dade)and a little girl, Celestine

I'm also a Freelance Graphic Designer & Illustrator. I LOVE my work. :-)

Well... lets see what else? I'm Hella shy, til I get to know the person, then I'm chattier than hell. I'm always willing to make new friends, but am a bit particular about which friends I get close too and keep in my life for the long haul.

I think I'm in a hangout mode in my life right now, occasional parties are GREAT, but I like to just kick back, have a nice toasty warm beverage, coffee, tea, hot coco (with marshmallows of course!)and hangout with my friends.

A Bleeding Out

2005-06-12 - 10:16 a.m.


(this was written thursday june 9th)

Its official I'm sick of blood. Dont want anything more to do with it.

Not that I'll even really be able to do that. but, for the moment, its my feeling on the life sustaining substance.

So What happened? I went if for my CT Scan today, all went well. The machine was SO not intimidating. it was a table that slid in and out of a large Gi-normous donut that emitted radiation! sounds like fun huh?!?! Oh yes I Recommend it for ALLL (minus the two LARGE containers of fruity flavored elmers glue (oral contrast) that they make you consume the night before and the day of.. *gag* *puke*

Anyway.. I get there.. fill out paperwork, the lady finds a suitable vein and jabs a needle into it. Attached to the tube (which was connected to the needle with a screw like joint)was a saline solution that she injects into my arm, THEN removes the seringe (spelling) that had the saline in it with a little cap.

Of course in the process of taking the saringe off and putting the cap on (normally there's some sort of plug seal thing that prevents it from spilling everywhere) little bit of a mess and some blood comes running OUT of the needle. ok no biggie.

I walk over to the machine.. meet the tech, he gives me the run down about what will happen when .. hold your breath here and exhale there (when the recorded voice says so). they do a run through one time without the dye and then a second time With a dye (injected through the IV that they set me up on) he comes in talks to me some more for the second run through.. injects the dye... and walks out. I'm sliding through the machine feeling the cold stuff run though my veins creating a funny sensation in my mouth (if there was a taste it was so mild so quickly that I didn't really notice) and then I felt a cold kinda trickle down my head and neck.

This was all somewhat familiar feeling for me.. with the past Ivs I've had. So I didn't think anything of it.

When the guy comes back he was all so how are yooo.....Uh.. you feeling ok? what happened? I look over and the pillow is completely drenched in blood. (my arm was resting about 6 inches away from my head) This explained the feeling I had gotten on my head (DAMN it, it WASNT the dye ). the nurse comes in and looks at the needle and IV tube. Apparently the lil plastic screw that held the tube to the needle had "broken" or "Unscrewed" and I was bleeding out blood saline and dye.

as she tightened the screw.. the tube popped off from below the screw seal.. and blood literally was flowing out everywhere. the ladys hands were covered and there was actually a decent size puddle of blood on the floor. I guess she was just as stunned as I was cause she just kinda stared at it for a few seconds and said "Oh my it disconnected" the tech grabbed like a 4inch stack of gauze she took half of it and pressed it down in me.. It also became soaked (it was running down my arm from the gauze). She looked at the guy worried and asked if they still needed the needle? he said no. so she took it out...

Its really weird laying there looking over and see your own blood come pushing out and nearly pouring out of your arm and all that you need to do to stop it is remove the device thats tapped into the vein.. *rolls eyes*

I'm not exaggerating when I say you could have filled 4 vials EASILY if not more. it really was ALOT.

So I left the hospital Radiated, Hair drenched with Blood saline and dye, and a quarter of a pint less of blood (I really have no clue HOW much it was.. just guestimating lol)

I'd say today was uhm ... well ... an experience?
Hell wouldn't you?
Mood: wondering what next ;)

template code by:rpdesigns, layout customization by KDS (aka Myself!)